Author Advice, Case Study, Self-Publishing Author Case Study

Come and find out how #SelfPublishedAuthor Rachel Amphlett has published 14 books! @RachelAmphlett #Selfpublishing #AmWriting #AmEditing #Authors #IndieAuthor

In the first self-published author case study of 2018, I am over the moon to welcome one of my favourite authors, Rachel Amphlett …

Who are you and when did your journey begin?

I’m Rachel Amphlett, and my publishing journey began in late 2011 when I published my debut novel, White Gold. I’m originally from the UK, but currently live in Brisbane, Australia. I’m a full-time author, and enjoy reading and writing crime fiction and thrillers.
Tell us about where you are on your self-publishing journey right now in terms of books published, where you publish etc.
I currently have 14 books published, which include three series and three standalone novels. I’ve just published the first three books in my new English Spy Mysteries series, and the fifth book in my Detective Kay Hunter series will be out in March.
Why did you choose to self-publish?
It sort of chose me, to be honest – I’d pitched my first novel around a few agents and publishers, but although they provided some fantastic feedback, vampires were big that year – not spy thrillers. In the end, another indie author emailed me and said “hey – have you thought of trying this?” and I haven’t looked back since.
What is best thing about self-publishing?
I like having the control of what to publish and when to publish, and I can experiment with my marketing endeavours to see what works best for me. I also love the community – indies help each other out wherever possible. The good thing is, I’m beginning to see more and more of an overlap between traditionally published authors and indies – we all like to see each other succeed and it’s great to be able to compare notes about what works for us, and what doesn’t.
What is the worst thing about self-publishing?
Trying to do everything within a 24 hour period – honestly, there aren’t enough hours in the day sometimes! I think you have to be mindful of your health, especially if you’re doing this on top of a full- or part-time job and/or running a family home!
What do you know now that you wish you’d known before you published your first book?
You really need to sit down and prepare a business and marketing plan rather than leave everything to chance. In fact, if you’ve only got one book available, I’d wait until the second one is ready to go before you publish, simply because that way you can maintain your visibility on the retailers’ websites. But don’t be afraid to experiment – the indie publishing industry changes very quickly, and you need to be agile and not be afraid of change.
If you could change one thing about your self-publishing journey, what would it be and why?
I’d have put my business hat on a lot sooner than I did. The moment I started treating this publishing malarkey seriously was when it all changed for me, and I haven’t looked back!
Do you have any advice for those who might be looking in to self-publishing?
Be prepared to work hard and publish often, and join the Alliance of Independent Authors because they have lots of great advice on their blog and in their closed Facebook group.
You can find out more about Rachel and her books by following her on the following social media:
If you’re a self-published author and would like to share your journey with me, please use the following link: https://goo.gl/forms/moLtmuv1OmPjuD672
Rachel’s Detective Kay Hunter is fantastic – here’s the details:
From Book 1: Praise for Scared to Death

Thrilling start to a new series. Scared to Death is a stylish, smart and gripping crime thriller Robert Bryndza, USA Today bestselling author of The Girl In The Ice“Moves along at breakneck speed with twists and turns” ~ Angela Marsons, bestselling author of the Detective Kim Stone crime thriller series

“If you want to see your daughter alive again, listen carefully.”
When the body of a snatched schoolgirl is found in an abandoned biosciences building, the case is first treated as a kidnapping gone wrong.

But Detective Kay Hunter isn’t convinced, especially when a man is found dead with the ransom money still in his possession.

When a second schoolgirl is taken, Kay’s worst fears are realised.

With her career in jeopardy and desperate to conceal a disturbing secret, Kay’s hunt for the killer becomes a race against time before he claims another life.

For the killer, the game has only just begun…

Kay Hunter (4 Book Series) by Rachel Amphlett

Scared to Death is the first book in a new crime thriller series featuring Kay Hunter – a detective with a hidden past and an uncertain future…

If you like the Kim Stone series by Angela Marsons, Peter James’ Roy Grace series and the Erika Foster series by Robert Bryndza, discover Rachel Amphlett’s new detective novels today. 

Her new series, the English Spy Mysteries are out NEXT week and you can pre-order book one, Assassins Hunted, at the link below, here’s the blurb …
Assassins Hunted: A gripping international espionage thriller (English Spy Mysteries Book 1) by [Amphlett, Rachel]

Praise for the English Spy Mysteries series

“With the Assassins trilogy, Rachel Amphlett proves her mastery of the fast-paced action thriller. Get ready for a hell of a ride.” ~ Zoe Sharp, author of the bestselling Charlie Fox series.

Mother. Widow. Spy.

Eva Delacourt has been in hiding for three years after her fiancée was assassinated in cold blood outside the British embassy in Prague.

She thought she was safe.

But someone in the mysterious Section has betrayed her, and now she’s on the run for her life, sworn to protect the six-year-old boy she adores.

Her enemies are closing in, and the odds are not in Eva’s favour. For Eva, the nightmare is just beginning…

Assassins Hunted is the first part in an ongoing story involving Eva Delacourt. The story will be continued in book 2 of the English Spy Mysteries, Assassins Vengeance.

The English Spy Mysteries is a new concept by acclaimed crime fiction author, Rachel Amphlett. Combining fast-paced thrilling reads with episodic delivery in the vein of TV shows 24, Alias, and Spooks, series one is a must-read for fans of Robert Ludlum, Vince Flynn, and James Patterson.

About Rachel …
Rachel Amphlett

Before turning to writing, Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC, and worked in publishing as a sub-editor and editorial assistant.

She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the Dan Taylor espionage novels and the Detective Kay Hunter series.

Originally from the UK and currently based in Brisbane, Australia, Rachel cites her writing influences as Michael Connelly, Lee Child, and Robert Ludlum. She’s also a huge fan of Peter James, Val McDermid, Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza, Ken Follett, and Stuart MacBride.

She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.

Her novels are available in eBook, paperback and audiobook formats from worldwide retailers including Amazon, iBooks, Kobo, and Google Play.

A keen traveller, Rachel holds both EU and Australian passports and can usually be found plotting her next trip two years in advance, usually with a crime fiction festival tacked on for good measure! You can stay in touch with Rachel via her Reader’s Group at http://www.rachelamphlett.com.

3 thoughts on “Come and find out how #SelfPublishedAuthor Rachel Amphlett has published 14 books! @RachelAmphlett #Selfpublishing #AmWriting #AmEditing #Authors #IndieAuthor”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.